How to Make an Egg Sandwich

March 5, 2009 § 10 Comments

First of all, you need a gas range. If you don’t have a gas range, please go out and get one. Making an egg sandwich requires the immediacy of “heat there – heat gone” that only the flame can provide. If you have an electric stove, and you insist on using it, well, okay, you can make an egg sandwich on that, but it will not be as good.

I learned to make this sandwich as a child watching my father do it, and in my heart I carried with me that method, both observed and instructed, like a kind of religious ritual. Thirty-five years later my father offered to make me the sandwich, and I was pleased and excited. Once again, I was going to have an egg sandwich made at the hands of the master! Imagine my shock and surprise, my downright dismay, when he didn’t make it right. He mixed up the eggs in the pan on the heat, it was stunning. He even added pickle relish to his own sandwich.

To properly make an egg sandwich you need five items: eggs, salt, white bread, mayonnaise and butter. (No you cannot use margarine, spreads, olive oil or anything else. It has to be butter.) For years I made this sandwich with Miracle Whip, but it contains High Fructose Corn Syrup, so I’ve gone to using mayo, it’s better for you.

No doubt you’ve seen those insidious ads that suggest High Fructose Corn Syrup is “all natural” and “nutritionally the same as table sugar.” They’re like those cigarette ads from the fifties that proclaimed smoking was “Healthy!” “Good for you!” Recommended by Doctors!” High Fructose Corn Syrup is a sweetener in which the caloric content has been used up through processing, it provides no cellular fuel at all. It may be all natural, but it leaves all natural fatty deposits in your liver. No thanks. But I digress. We like Hellman’s for mayonnaise, as it is a bit tangier and more like Miracle Whip in taste.

Clearly, this is not an egg salad sandwich, and technically, it is not a fried egg sandwich. A fried egg sandwich would be something akin to the burger my stepfather used to order at the lunch counter of the Linkletter Hotel . . . three patties of beef, three slices of cheese stacked in a bun, with a sunny-side up egg on top. He ate this sandwich continental style with a knife and fork.

This might be described as a scrambled egg sandwich, but you cook the eggs more like frittata, you don’t scramble them in the pan, but I’m getting ahead of myself.

If you want to use cheap eggs, that’s your prerogative of course, but the extra expense of organic eggs from grain fed, free range hens pays off in taste. (Not to mention the kharmic boost that you get from not further contributing to the misery of hens being kept on an assembly line and fed diets that include (eek!) bits of other chickens. Cannibal chickens! The stuff of Wes Craven’s nightmares.

So take two or three beautiful eggs (your preference) and crack them into a bowl, glass measuring cup or clean coffee mug. Whisk them briskly with a pair of forks. Heat a small non-stick frying pan, and add a dollop of butter. Turn the heat on high. When the butter is melted and frothy, pour in the eggs. Be careful not to let the butter brown . . . if it does, you have to start all over with new butter.

While the eggs bubble happily in the pan, get out two slices of good white bread. (A note about Wonder Bread. I am not a Wonder Bread snob. I can roll up my slice of Wonder Bread into those neat little doughy balls with the best of them . . . but Wonder Bread won’t work well for this sandwich, it’s too spongy and the whole thing will just be a soggy mess. It needs to be white bread with a little bit of body.) Or you can use nutty multi-grain bread, or the like. Sourdough or rye are likely to crowd the delicate taste of the eggs, so they are not advised.

My husband, who is a wonderful man in nearly every respect, insists on freezing the loaves of bread that cross our threshold. If I’m making this sandwich with bread that’s been frozen, I toast the bread. (Thawed bread is not the same as soft bread, darling, no matter what you say.) In the best of possible worlds, use bread that you just brought home from the grocery store, bread that has never seen refrigeration of any kind.

Take your slices of bread, and spread upon them a reasonable amount of mayo. Don’t glop it on, just a little goes a long way. Some heathen pagan insensitive types have been known to put mustard (mustard!) on this sandwich. I say to them, why don’t you just have a mustard sandwich? Even a tiny bit of good Dijon mustard will make it taste like mustard. I shudder at the thought.

Have you been keeping an eye on the eggs? You need to be keeping an eye on the eggs. They should be getting tall and puffy in the undisturbed pan. Now, depending on the intended recipient of the egg sandwich, you flip it either sooner or later. My son, who is generally a good boy, likes his eggs browned slightly. What’s a mother to do? I can’t stand them this way, but that’s his preference and so I bite my tongue and make his sandwich with the eggs browned.

Sprinkle salt on the eggs like you were dancing to Afro-Cuban music while cooking. (In fact, it’s not a bad idea to listen to Afro-Cuban music while cooking.) Flip them over with a spatula. Cook for another minute or so, then slide the eggs (a golden fluffy patty of eggs) onto the waiting bread.

Place on a small plate and carry with you to your favorite armchair to consume while reading a paperback novel. Put the egg sandwich on a tray with a steaming cup of coffee and a tall glass of orange juice and carry upstairs to your husband who is feeling not quite himself. Wrap in a paper towel and carry for your son who has his arms full with his school bag and cello so he can eat his warm breakfast in the car on a dark and cold winter morning on the way to school.

Make this sandwich when you aren’t in the mood to make dinner. This sandwich is excellent for lunch while working on household projects. It’s great nourishment for your mother recovering from heart surgery. It is, in fact, perfect for mending broken hearts, not to mention a bonafide cure for hangovers and other ailments. An egg sandwich is just the thing to fix for your father when he is dying of cancer, even if it turns out after all these years that he doesn’t make it the same way. He will enjoy it anyway, maybe all the more so because it was something of his that you took and made your own.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to How to Make an Egg Sandwich

  • Elmer Lieu says:

    Another great one! Can’t wait. I’ll have mine with everything (tall orange juice & coffee). Have fun at Folly Beach.

  • Jeanne says:

    I can’t wait for you to make me one someday! Another great read!

  • Donna says:

    what…no cheese?

    • larkinvonalt says:

      Well, if you must. That’s not as bad as mustard I suppose . . .

    • Stephen Sheriff says:

      A slight sprinkle of old aged gouda, grated fine.

      The best place to keep bread is in a gas oven, only the pilot for heat. But note, this makes it mold faster.

  • Rasputin says:

    There are six ingredients. You forgot to mention the PAN. What kind. It matters. Do you have any idea what ” free range ” chickens eat? About the same diet as blue crabs.

    My father used to insist on putting white bread ( or any kind at all ) in the fridge. he was clueless that this only hastened the staling process. Freezing does preserve, but thawed frozen bread is NOT fresh bread. This sandwich is worthless on whole wheat.

    During an intense snowstorm, my ex and I were dismayed to find all the bread at the grocers gone, but for Wonderbread. Needing something, we knowingly bought it anyway. But the strorm like all those southeastern ones no mater how much snow has dropped, last only a short while and another visit to the store revealed more and better bread. So the Wonderbread sat there on the counter for the rest of the week. The rest of the month. Six months later it had no trace of mold. I have no idea when that loaf were baked, or even if it were. I think it came out of a computerised food module like on star-trek.

    I agree with ” Donna ” cheese do make it better, but different. Some well shredded ham would not be amiss.

    In my house one needs to make three. And have a paper towel handy to wipe up the drool on the floor. The dogs will be served. ( But they notice not whether this episode has gone well.

  • Christy says:

    Forgot the cheese, cheddar is best. BTW, I’ve cooked for you and you haven’t cooked for me!

  • larkinvonalt says:

    C– As soon as you come to my house (soon, I hope, perhaps October) I will be happy to cook for you. Made Shrimp Coconut Curry tonight it was wonderful. And you can have cheese on your egg sandwich if you like. And Donna and R– I make this particular egg sandwich in a very particular way because I always made it that way and I remembered that was the way it was made. The punchline is that although I was passionately true to the method my father used, his methods changed. I don’t mind it on whole wheat, the nutty kind, though it changes the sandwich a lot. I use an anodized aluminum pan with a non-stick surface, about 7 inches across.

    Thanks for the read, and for the comments. Had 218 “hits” on this site today– about 10 times the usual number.

  • Tai says:

    Sounds good. Very detailed. 🙂

  • Donna says:

    I make a variation that is whole grain bread, 2 eggs and 1 egg white, Annie’s Goodess dressing (for obvious reasons) tomato, avacado and cheese (any kind)…in fact running to kitchen now.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading How to Make an Egg Sandwich at a thousand days.

meta